Schools and Colleges

At St. Catherine University students enroll in one of three colleges: the College for Women, the College for Adults, or the Graduate College. They then pursue their majors or programs of study through four disciplined-based schools:

  • School of Business
  • Henrietta Schmoll School of Health
  • School of Humanities, Arts and Sciences
  • School of Social Work

The schools, collectively, are home to more than 100 fields of study - many available in both traditional and weekend/evening formats.

School of Business

The School of Business prepares lifelong learners to initiate ideas and take action in a globally-connected, changing world. Bachelor's and graduate degrees, certificates and professional development programming span finance, marketing, sales, management, communication, ethics and consumer science.

Programs include the nationally recognized Center for Sales Innovation, the Master of Arts in Organizational Leadership and the Master of Business Administration. Education programs are offered at two degree levels and in Montessori. All elementary education majors are required to complete a science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) certificate. The Master of Library and Information Science program is the only library and information science program in Minnesota, and one of only 60 in North America, accredited by the American Library Association.

Other baccalaureate majors offered in the School of Business include accounting, professional sales (healthcare and business to business), business administration, business management, communication studies, apparel design, and fashion merchandising.

School of Humanities, Arts and Sciences (SHAS)

The School of Humanities, Arts, and Sciences is named for its three academic foci:  the Humanities; the Visual, Media, and Performing Arts; and the Natural and Social Sciences. All three areas of study play an equally important role in the education of students. These three areas, taken together, comprise the liberal arts, a foundational element of the historic College of St. Catherine and one major component of the university’s three-part mission. 

The Humanities explore crucial questions about what it means to be a thinking, imaginative, and creative human being. The Arts provide students and the university community with opportunities to develop their creative potential. Scientific literacy is crucial for our 21st-century global environment and economy, and the departments in the natural and social sciences help students become scientifically literate citizens. Overall, The School of Humanities, Arts, and Sciences prepares students with the knowledge and skills to be successful in a wide variety of careers and in graduate and professional programs. Students learn to understand deeply, analyze critically, explore and judge available solutions, and take effective, ethical action in increasingly complex and ever-changing global communities.

The School offers more than 25 majors and 30 minors, including some of the most popular majors for students, psychology, English, and biology. The School also houses St. Kate's first-ever graduate program, the Master of Arts in Theology, and the Interpreting Studies and Communication Equity program.

Henrietta Schmoll School of Health (HSSH)

The Henrietta Schmoll School of Health is a recognized leader in preparing competent, compassionate and principled healthcare professionals.  It also engages clinical and community partners to influence health, health systems and health policy.

The School offers programs in such areas as radiography, sonography, occupational and physical therapy, dietetics, holistic health, and exercise and sports science. It also has a range of entry-level to advanced-level education such as the Doctor of Nursing Practice, Doctor of Occupational Therapy and the Doctor of Physical Therapy programs.

School of Social Work (SSW)

St. Catherine University and the University of St. Thomas jointly offer social work degrees at the undergraduate and graduate levels. The School of Social Work offers undergraduate courses and curricula for social work, chemical dependency counseling and social services management.

The Master of Social Work (MSW) is designed to provide advanced professional study in clinical social work. Dual-degree programs are offered in collaboration with the Departments of Holistic Health and Theology at St. Catherine University, and the Law School at the University of St. Thomas. The Doctorate of Social Work (DSW) prepares students to teach and lead in the social work profession with a particular focus on teaching as social work practice.